The World Health Organisation (WHO) is an agency of the United Nations specialised in international public health. The WHO Regional Office for Europe is one of the WHO’s six regional offices around the world, serving 53 countries in the WHO European Region.

In comparison to the European Union, the WHO European Region covers a vastly greater geographical area, stretching all the way from the Atlantic Ocean to the Pacific Ocean. The following figure gives an impression of the WHO European region and the other five WHO regions in the world.

Figure 1. The six WHO regions
WHO Regions

The Regional Office for Europe is located in Denmark’s capital Copenhagen. Furthermore, there are 5 technical centres and 29 country offices across the European region. The WHO European Region includes the following countries: